While TikTok is experiencing a meteoric rise, for now, YouTube remains the 'King of Video'. As the platform falls under Google's brand, all advertising is handled via Google Ads – which manages advertising across all Google's products. Under this system, advertisers bid for ad placement, meaning your YouTube advertising cost can range dramatically depending on several factors.
Here are a few key stats about YouTube Ads cost:
-Average YouTube ads cost $0.10 to $0.30 per view or action.
-The average daily budget was $10.
-To reach 100,000 viewers costs, on average, around $2,000.
With more than 2 billion monthly users, YouTube's colossal audience is a fierce bidding war between brands. Nevertheless, depending on a myriad of factors, you could spend more or less than the average.
In this article, we will explore how YouTube ads costs are determined, what you'll need to spend to have an impact, and how to make the most of your budget.
What determines YouTube's ad cost?
YouTube ads work on a cost-per-click and cost-per-view pricing model. Which model you use is wholly up to you, with your ad only being charged based upon user action.
Four factors determine your overall ad cost:
1.Your ad type
2.Your bid
3.Your bidding selection
4.Your targeting options
For example, non-skippable ads typically cost more per click or view than skippable ads. In addition, you can set your bid amounts: though the lower you set the amount, the more likely another ad will outbid you.
Depending on your funds available, you'll need to set a daily budget and determine your Max Cost Per View. Using Google's smart bidding platform is a sensible option for newcomers to YouTube ads. It uses machine learning to calculate the best bidding strategies based on these parameters.
Types of YouTube Ads
YouTube's ads come in all shapes and sizes. The various ad formats all carry different price points, depending on their reach and effectiveness.
-Display ads. Appear to the right of the feature video or above the video suggestions list.
-Overlay ads. Semi-transparent ads that appear in the lower 20% of a video.
-Skippable video ads. Play before, during, or after the main video with the option to skip after 5 seconds.
-Non-skippable video ads. Play before, during, or after the main video and must be watched to completion.
-Bumper ads. Non-skippable ads of up to 6 seconds.
-Sponsored cards. Cards display content relevant to the video, e.g., products featured in the video.
As a rule of thumb: the bigger the ad and the longer it plays, the more you'll spend.
What level of spending sees results?
Most businesses set their max spend per day at around $10. However, depending on the type of ad you select, that can mean your ad is seen a few hundred times or ten times. You'll want to play around with the options to begin with, then work out how viewers interact with your ad.
Moreover, most advertisers also opt for the cost per view model (meaning a viewer will need to watch 30 seconds or more of your ad before you pay).
As you manage your YouTube advertising costs, always remember a simple formula:
Return on ad spend (ROAS) = Revenue / Cost
For example: if you spent $70 per week on YouTube ads and you generated $120 in sales, your ROAS would be: $120/$70 = $1.7, i.e., you earned $1.7 for every $1 spent.
The higher your ROAS, the greater your overall profit. Just be careful; if your ROAS slips below $1, you'll be making a loss. Most companies aim for a 4:1 ratio, i.e., a $4 revenue for $1 costs, according to WebFX. But, depending on your product, you can see your ROAS increase or decrease.
How to maximize your YouTube ads budget
1. Select your target audience
The secret to all phenomenal marketing is knowing your target audience. Ask yourself:
-What's their demographic? Age, gender, income, and country.
-What do they like? What kind of videos will your target audience watch on YouTube?
-What keywords and phrases will show up in your audience's searches?
If you're selling sportswear, ensuring your ad is shown for fitness YouTubers is paramount, as you'll see significantly more traction than if you were marketing to history buffs.
2.Create high-quality video ads
You never want your ad to look more amateurish than the following video. Your video should be high-quality, high-res, with content that'll grab your audience's attention.
Some companies spend as little as $5,000 using home equipment; others invest $100,000 employing a professional crew with the best production values.
It's up to you. Often, however, some of the most engaging ads had a simple idea and a small budget. You don't need to spend tens of thousands – get creative!
3.Keep it short
Your video is not the main event – so get to the point. Even if you're paying more for non-skippable ads, boring, long videos cause people to lose focus.
Get your message across in the shortest time possible. If all you've got is five seconds, what can you say that'll capture your attention and keep them from clicking "skip".
Try to keep your ad to 45 seconds or less. It's long enough to get your message across and short enough to stay fresh.
4.Monitor your metrics
You'll want to monitor your views, likes, shares, and subscriptions. Keeping track of your metrics is key to pushing up your performance. If something isn't working, there's no point wasting money as you wait. You need to refine and adapt to improve your user engagement.
With Google Ads, you can harness real-time insights to create a superior ad campaign.
Minimize your YouTube advertising costs; maximize your reach
Through the ad process, think about your ROAS. Every decision should be about maximizing your user engagement per view. You don't want to waste money on users who won't buy your product or service – tailor your ad to your niche.
References:
https://influencermarketinghub.com/how-much-do-youtube-ads-cost/#toc-8
https://www.webfx.com/social-media/pricing/how-much-does-youtube-advertising-cost/
https://foundr.com/articles/marketing/youtube-ads-cost-breakdown
2022 Digital Marketing Trends You Need to Know
1.TikTok continues its meteoric rise
Few people grasp how significant the growth of TikTok is: it took YouTube over 8 years to reach a billion users; TikTok achieved it under 4 years. Last year the Chinese app overtook YouTube for average watch time in the US and UK: 25:38 hours monthly per user vs 22:40 hours monthly per user.
With ever more eyes glued to TikTok, it's little surprise that brands are beginning to see greater reach on TikTok than on other platforms. Expect to see more brands embrace viral video marketing on the platform.
2.Digital spending will leapfrog agency spend
Gone are the days of traditional advertising. According to a 2021 survey, almost three-quarters of marketing budgets were allocated for digital marketing. What's interesting is that passive marketing strategies like SEO and social media are starting to outpace paid digital marketing like search ads.
In fact, SEO and social media strategies can lead to outsized gains on shoestring budgets compared to paid ad strategies. We can therefore expect the global digital ad spend to decline from the $378 billion spent last year.
3.Competition for talent will intensify
After the so-called "Great Resignation", the digital marketing talent pool is more competitive than ever. Companies across the world are struggling to find and retain talent.
The reason is simple: there are fewer workers replacing retirees.
We can expect this labor shortage to continue for decades to come. For marketers, it means the gig economy is here to stay, with talented freelancers preferring to go it alone as demand for their skills skyrockets.
In the UK, for example, up to 60% of workers say they're considering changing their careers. Marketing companies must bid fiercely to hire and retain their best and brightest.
4.Google Business Profile for local SEO
Digital marketing trends often prioritize the global over the local. The internet was about extending reach beyond regional and national boundaries.
Google Business Profile (formerly Google My Business) is Google's answer to local businesses – for example, boutiques, restaurants, plumbers, dentists, and more. Under the service, companies can rack up reviews, market their services, appear in local "near me" searches, and get pinned in Google Maps.
For marketers, going after businesses rooted in their local community could be the big frontier for the next year or more – especially as consumers are opting to search for something unique.
5.Move towards interactive content
Passive content, like social media posts and blog articles, has dominated the past decade. Sure, you could comment, like, or share, but the interactivity was consumer to consumer (C2C), not B2C.
That's all changing. Companies are now sparking engagement on social media and with blog posts using quizzes, polls and surveys, contests, and more.
Brands build loyalty, grab attention, and hook users into their products by promoting interactive content. It's also a fantastic way to sample the market.
6.Reduced clicks with shoppable posts
There's a rule in marketing: reduce a consumer's work. The more clicks between an ad and a product, the more chances consumers will change their minds.
The answer to their prayers: shoppable posts.
Instagram's Shoppable Posts, for example, let users see the product they love, tap the link, and be transported directly to the product page. Even better, the product info is displayed in the post, e.g., price and description.
We can expect this digital marketing trend to expand rapidly in 2022 and beyond.
7.More influencer marketing
Alongside the rise of TikTok, influencers are gaining more and more ground. These fledgling megastars can earn hundreds of thousands of dollars per post through sponsorship deals.
Nor is TikTok alone; Instagram is perhaps the original home of the influencer – and continues to see prominent demand.
But influencers need not be global megastars. Getting a local chef or celebrity to back your product on social media can also work effectively for smaller businesses. After all, we buy from people we trust.
8.Mobile website dominance
While few businesses have neglected mobile optimization, it's never been the priority. It was assumed the bulk of customers were accessing websites via desktops. No longer. As of 2019, more than half of all online traffic comes from mobile devices.
That means we see the rise of mobile-first, desktop-second sites. Companies aren't just optimizing for mobile; they're designing their sites with mobile in mind: less text and streamlined, touchscreen-friendly navigation.
9.Increase in personalization
Copywriting excels when it speaks directly to the customer – using a name is a powerful tool. With greater customer data, businesses can leverage their knowledge to create personalized content – be it emails, landing pages, and more.
From calls to action to email headlines, asking "Hi Sam, it's time to renew your subscription" works better than no-name every time.
10.Video marketing boost
Video marketing has soared upwards since 2019; there are no signs of a slowdown. As 72% of customers prefer learning about a product or service through video, this easy to consume medium is likely to overtake all others.
Just remember, most video is still watched without sound – in-video text is a big part of its success.
References:
https://www.visualcapitalist.com/timeline-the-march-to-a-billion-users/
https://www.oyova.com/blog/the-rise-of-video-marketing/
https://www.educba.com/digital-marketing-trends/
https://digitalmarketinginstitute.com/blog/the-next-big-digital-marketing-trends
https://www.bluewhalemedia.co.uk/digital-marketing-trends-2022/
https://www.theedigital.com/blog/digital-marketing-trends
https://www.smartinsights.com/digital-marketing-strategy/digital-marketing-trends-innovation/
Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipisicing elit. Autem dolore, alias, numquam enim ab voluptate id quam harum ducimus cupiditate similique quisquam et deserunt, recusandae. here
"Sed ut perspiciatis unde omnis iste natus error sit voluptatem accusantium doloremque laudantium, totam rem aperiam, eaque ipsa qua.".
"Sed ut perspiciatis unde omnis iste natus error sit voluptatem accusantium doloremque laudantium, totam rem aperiam, eaque ipsa qua.".
© 2021. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy. Terms Of Use. Disclaimer.